Thursday, November 17, 2016

The Welsh Students

Dyma'r disgyblion Cymraeg!

Here are the Welsh students...





(I am the fifth from the left in the pink jumper) Hello my name is Eve Barrett and I am 15 (almost 16) years old. I live in Llangollen which is a beautiful, quaint, and picturesque town in north east Wales. I am currently in my 5th year of high school.

I live with my mum, my dad and my younger brother called Harvey. Me and my brother can both speak Welsh however my parents cannot. We have a dog called meg which is a  Springer spaniel, chickens and 3 sheep

         I am a very bubbly, energetic and jolly person and am happy nearly all the time. I am quite easy going and up for trying new things. I enjoy playing sports such as hockey and rock climbing and being outdoors. I especially enjoy spending time with my friends and having sleepovers ad going to the cinema.When I'm with my friends we get really excited, crazy and weird but in a good way ( I think). l also like doing art, day dreaming and eating food. (mmmmm chocolate)

In my spare time I also enjoy going to scouts where I do lots of exciting things, performing in my local pantomime which I have been in every year now for 12 years and walking my dog in the hills. I play the piano.

I go to  Ysgol Dinas Brân which Is  a bilingual school, I am taught through median of Welsh. I enjoy school my favourite subjects are Maths, Geography and Spanish. I work hard as I want to do good in my exams. Ysgol Dinas Brân is quite a big school with 1000 students. I don't know what I would like to do in the future but I would definitely like a job which involves travelling and meeting new people.

Eve Barrett
Ysgol Dinas Bran

 


My name is Laura McAndrew, I’m a 16 year old girl from Wales, and I am currently in my last year of high school. I am a neat and hard-working person, and I make sure to work hard in school so that I do well in my exams. I’m aslo quite a fun and a sarcastic person, and I like to have a laugh with my friends.

I live with my family in a tiny village called Glyndyfrdwy, in northen Wales. I like Glyndyfrdwy because the surrounding countryside is beautiful and scenic, however I do live quite far away from my friends, which is inconvenient. My younger brother and I go to school in Llangollen, which is a town seven miles away from Glyndyfrdwy.

My family consists of my mum, my dad, and my two brothers. Although my dad and my younger brother speak welsh, I speak english at home. My older brother is away at university, while my younger brother is in the year below me. Most of the time, I get along well with my brothers, however, they can be quite annoying.

In my spare time, I like to read, watch films, and listen to/play music. I play the piano, the clarinet, and the saxophone, and I am currently working towards three different music exams. I have been playing the piano and clarinet for over 6 years, and the saxophone for over 4 years. I like to go out with my friends to either Llangollen, where most of my friends live, or to Wrexham, where we usually see a film at the cinema or go out for a meal. I also like to take photos, especially of sunsets, and to go on cycle rides up the mountains and along the backroads in my area.
My school is about seven miles from where I live, and although there is a school bus, my parents take me to school as it is on the way to where they work. My school is called Ysgol Dinas Brân, and is quite big, with around 1000 students. My favourite subject is maths, but I do like most subjects, including geography, history, and French. I’m currently working towards my GCSE exams, which will be in the summer. I don’t know for sure what I would like to do in the future, but I might study maths or French at university.



Hello, my name is Zoë Nicholas and I am 15 years old. I live in Wales and I’m currently completing my last year of high school.

As a person, I would say I’m reasonably social and I love spending time with my friends. We can be a little crazy, but hopefully in a good way!

I live in Pentredŵr, a very small village which is a ten minute drive away from my school in Llangollen. It is a very isolated place – there aren’t any shops or facilities and buses only run on a Tuesday and Friday morning (although I have never seen one.) However, it is very beautiful and picturesque and it is very close to nature.

I live with my mum, my dad and my younger brother James. We all speak Welsh apart from my dad, who was born in England. We have two dogs named Ash and Gwen, and a lot of other animals like chickens and sheep because I live on a farm.

In my spare time, I enjoy writing, singing and playing musical instruments. I have been playing the piano for six years, the cornet for seven years and the violin for eight years; I am better at the piano out of them all, even though I have been playing it for the shortest amount of time. Every year, I take part in the school production and this year we are doing We Will Rock You; it is based on songs by Queen and it’s a lot of fun.

I go to Ysgol Dinas Brân in Llangollen. I started there when I was 11 years old, and next year, I can either carry on into the sixth form or go to college. The school is bilingual, so some students learn through the medium of English and some through the medium of Welsh. We have roughly 1,000 students in our school. My favourite subjects are Geography and Maths, but I have no idea what I want to do in the future!



Bethany Pierce

Ysgol Dinas Bran

My name is Beth Pierce, I will turn 16 in December. I am currently studying in my last year of High school; Ysgol Dinas Brân in Llangollen. The school is bilingual but I do most of my subjects through the medium of Welsh. I enjoy being in the Welsh unit as we are very close as a class and I have made very good life long friends. Along with the core subjects such as English, Welsh, maths and the sciences, I also study three subjects that I chose to study - Drama, design technology and history.

I live in a small town called Corwen, a 15 minute drive from Llangollen. I live with my mum, step dad and Younger brother Frankie, we also have a dog called Tilly, my grandparents live next door but one to us and so I do visit them very often - both my grandparents speak Welsh fluently and my mum can also speak a bit  too, my brother is also fluent in the language, as a family we tend to speak English together but my brother and I sometimes speak to my grandparents in Welsh as they both prefer to speak the language . My dad lives around 30 minutes from myself and I see him and my step mum every other weekend, they are both English speakers. Corwen is a very lovely place to live, it is a very welcoming place with lots of beautiful scenery that I take for granted on a daily basis.

I'd say I'm a very Chatty and bubbly person who enjoys socialising with many different people. I'm not a very active person but I do enjoy getting out with my family and enjoying the many different scenic walks on offer right on our doorstep. I don't have many hobbies but I enjoy spending time shopping and eating out with my friends. I also enjoy watching comedy, this varies from films to TV series to stand up comedy, this is probably one of the main reasons to why I'm so giggly!

In the near future I would like to attend the sixth form in our school for two years, before; hopefully, applying for a Welsh university to hopefully qualify as a Welsh speaking secondary school teacher. This would be an excellent opportunity to take part in, and I'm extremely excited to meet you all, and looking forward to seeing Finland in real life and not just pictures from Google!
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment